Kylie Holmes

Author/About Kylie

My name is Kylie. My mum found my name in a Mills & Boon Romance Book that she reading when was expecting me.  I was born in Bedford, England, in October 1970.  When I was 4 my family moved to Langford in Bedfordshire, which is where I grew up.  I have younger siblings: Sister Kerry and younger brother Matthew.  From an early age I enjoyed making up stories in my bedroom.  My favourite author as a child was and still is Roald Dahl.

I’m very much a self-confessed fan of science-fiction. I love the idea of Time Travel which stems from my childhood. I’ve got my Dad to thank for introducing me to: ‘Star Trek‘, ‘Quantum Leap‘, ‘Blakes Seven’ and ‘Dr Who.’ I was hooked. I often wondered about how you could travel in time so you could catch history in the making, and see the people you love once again. 

Did you know my Mum, Dad, Sister and Brother saw a UFO when we were coming back from my Grandparents! Its a story that we still speak about today…

Growing up, I wanted either to be: a Journalist, PE Teacher or Professional Tennis Player.  I love playing Tennis. My favourite player is Boris Becker.  I even won a competition with a national UK Newspaper to play Tennis with Dennis Lewis and that was great fun.  This inspired me to train and become a Tennis Coach.


I may now expose myself to ridicule ~ which I don’t care as I believe in ghosts and Angels. Maybe it’s because I’m born on Halloween and have the ability to see them. I’ve had many experiences that I can’t explain, but I daresay a scientist would thoroughly rubbish them. Yet it is estimated that half of us are similarly convinced and have had their very own spooky encounters…
Dyslexia has proven to be a challenge, but then so did learning how to drive a car!  I’ve had many jobs since leaving school: Administration Assistant, Bar Maid, Secretary, Waitress, and Tennis Coach. I’ve worked with homeless people, trained as a Hypnotherapist and Meditation & Mindfulness Teacher.

The best job I have is being a Mum to: Jade, Amba, Leo and Ruby. The other is writing books and inspiring and coaching children and adults to discover their ‘Writing Passion.’  When I’m not writing, you can find me either walking my Border Collies Max and Benny or sampling different types of ice creams and cheesecakes.